11 weeks ago I was in hospital following brain surgery….

11 weeks on I’m home, and I’m taking steps forward to full recovery every day. 11 weeks ago I couldn’t walk on my own, wash on my own, go to the toilet on my own, now I can do all of that and so much more! I’m not afraid to ask for help, and struggle with some things still, but as I’ve said before it’s a journey; highs, lows, the whole  shebang! As part of the journey I’ve seen it as an opportunity to improve me, both physically and mentally. Before the op my balance was pretty bad because of the positioning of the tumour but now it’s gone there’s no reason I can’t make my balance better than it ever was before, with physio & exercise and a positve state of mind. Before my op sometimes I used to take life too seriously, get stressed, upset or frustrated but now I know it’s just not worth it, life’s too short, I’ve discovered mindfulness and meditation and have realised my health and happiness is number one!

Yesterday I celebrated being normal with some of my bestest friends, cooking dinner for them, sitting around the table and chatting, something I haven’t done in so long, but which felt so good and made me happy and even if I can’t smile, happiness is sometimes the best medication!

So what did I cook the girls? We started with a few dips, chips and crudités while we had a catch up and then followed with roasted pepper, ginger prawn quinoa and rice pilaf with chilli coriander oil. This recipe is based on a Sainsbury’s magazine recipe with a few tweaks and additions. I served this with a sweet and sour cucumber & carrot noodle salad (using my spiralizer) and a dressing made with lemon juice, honey, fish sauce, white wine vinegar, rice vinegar, finely chopped garlic and onion and some toasted seeds.

   
 

For pudding I made Nigella’s Bailey tiramisu, a delicious recipe which my mother in law introduced me to.  But the showstopper of the meal was the amazing chocolate orange brownies my beautiful friend made, she’s very modest and not an overly confident baker but it’s official, in writing, they were delicious and you are fantastic! (The photographer skills though are perhaps not as good! 😋)

 

Leave a comment